Development

We are familiar with the complexities of development and have experts to see your project through from initial concept through to practical completion.

We advise on all aspects of development work

Drawing on expertise in our teams in real estate, planning, construction, finance, litigation, corporate and strategic land, we advise on all aspects of development work, ranging from minor landlord pre-letting works, refurbishment and repurposing of existing buildings, through to brownfield redevelopment and greenfield development, whether for a single occupier or for a multi-unit site.

We are familiar with the complexities of development, including stringent ESG requirements and handling of local authorities, and have experts to see your project through from its initial concept (including development constraints advice, site assembly and input on planning) through to practical completion (and subsequent transactions, such as sales, leases or refinancing). We are equally adept at picking up a development where work has already begun, including negotiating development funding.

We act for institutional investors, building contractors, developers, public authorities, funders and occupiers, and have experience across a range of asset classes, including PBSA, BTR, hotels, industrial/logistics, offices, retail and leisure.

Our advice covers:

  • Forward purchases, commitments and fundings
  • Development agreements and agreement for lease
  • Negotiations with local authorities
  • Agreeing construction document packages
  • Setting up suitable estate management companies
  • Lending transaction documents

Key Contacts

Charles Elgood

Partner, Commercial real estate 020 3465 4363 celgood@maplesteesdale.co.uk View profile

Anastasia Klein

Partner, Commercial real estate 020 3465 4347 aklein@maplesteesdale.co.uk View profile

Declan Power

Partner, Commercial real estate 020 3465 4335 dpower@maplesteesdale.co.uk View profile

John Bosworth

Partner, Planning 020 3465 4303 jbosworth@maplesteesdale.co.uk View profile

Sam Nichols

Partner, Construction 020 3465 4374 snichols@maplesteesdale.co.uk View profile

Martin Smith

Partner, Commercial real estate 020 3465 4326 msmith@maplesteesdale.co.uk View profile